On November 27th 2011, at 08:52, Michael Thali wrote an e-mail with the following message: ‘We are pleased to announce the formation of the International Society of Forensic Radiology and Imaging as well as the release of the Journal of Forensic Radiology and Imaging’. With that e-mail the birth of the ISFRI as a society was made public. The actual birth of the ISFRI had taken place on November 14th 2011, in Zurich Switserland, with as main founding fathers Michael Thali and Mark Viner.

With the globally increasing importance of Forensic Radiology and Imaging the founding fathers were convinced that the time was right to start this new society. The first annual meeting of the ISFRI took place from May 12th to 14th in Zurich Switserland. Attendees of this meeting were the first members of ISFRI and gained the status of Founding Members of the ISFRI.

The 2015 meeting marked a new highlight, as this was the first joint meeting of the ISFRI and the International Association of Forensic Radiographers (IAFR). 

Past board members

2019 - 2022 Krzysztof Woźniak, Chair.

2018 - 2021 Natalie Adolphi, Chair.

2017 - 2020 Lars Oesterhelweg, Chair.

2016 - 2019 Chris O'Donnell, Chair.

2015 - 2018 Peter Mygind Leth, Chair.

2014 - 2017 Rick van Rijn, Chair.

2013 - 2016 Guy Rutty, Chair.

2012 - 2016 Thomas Ruder, Secretary.

2012 - 2015 Guillaume Gorincourt, Chair.

2012 - 2014 Gary Hatch, JoFRI Liaison Officer.

2012 - 2013 Robert Breitbeck, Treasurer.

Past annual meetings

2022 Tokio, Japan, Hybrid
Chair: Hideki Hyodoh

2021 Krakow, Poland, On-line
Chair: Krzysztof Woźniak
Book of abstracts

2020 Albuquerque, USA (cancelled due to COVID-19)
Chair: Natalie Adolphi

2019 Berlin, Germany
Chair: Lars Oesterhelweg

2018 Melbourne, Australia
Chair: Chris O'Donnell

2017 Odense, Denmark
Chair: P.M. Leth
Book of abstracts

2016 Amsterdam, the Netherlands
Chair: R.R. van Rijn
Abstracts of the scientific presentations
Abstracts of the posters

2015 Leicester, United Kingdom.
Chair: G. Rutty.
Video presentation

2014 Marseille, France.
Chair: G. Gorincourt.
Video presentation
Abstracts of the scientific meeting

2013 Zurich, Switserland.
Chair: M. Thali.
Abstracts of the scientific meeting 

2012 Zurich, Switserland.
Chair: M. Thali.
Abstracts of the scientific meeting